SUBTERRANEAN HOMESICK BLUES

SERENDIPITY

I have been thinking about the government. Which reminded me of this song. Except I couldn’t quite remember the title and I pondered that as we drove (very slowly through almost bumper-t0-bumper traffic) the 60 miles from Cape Cod to home. Finally, I remembered “subterranean” and “blues.” I could remember half the lyrics, in pieces.

Well, you gotta hand it to Google. Type in a piece of the puzzle and it brings up the rest of the story. “Subterranean Homesick Blues” was released by Bob Dylan in 1965. Bringing it All Back Home was his fifth studio album and has always been my favorite. I realized I no longer own a copy, so I ordered the CD from Amazon. It’s one of the basics.

bringing-it-all-back-homecover

If a song can be prescient, this is. Here are the lyrics:

Johnny’s in the basement
Mixing up the medicine
I’m on the pavement
Thinking about the government

View original post 434 more words

Leave a Reply

